Cars Galore AGI Sport driver Will Brown has claimed a stunning second place podium finish, during race 1 of the Australian Formula 4 round at Phillip Island.

Brown benefited from a clean race, making decisive moves to ultimately finish in second position after starting from fourth on the grid.

Brown is battling with Harry Hayek for the Rookie of the Year championship and his podium now sees him closing in.

Team BRM’s Jordan Lloyd won an action filled race.

Lloyd’s teammate and Phillip Island rookie Zane Goddard, who started alongside the championship leader in second position, was deemed to have jumped the start and handed with a five second post-race penalty.

Despite the jump start, Goddard continued to entertain as he engaged in thrilling battles with the likes of Thomas Randle, Tom Grech, and Jimmy Vernon. However, lock ups late in the race at MG and Honda corners saw the Gold Coast 16-year-old cross the line in sixth.

Thomas Randle, despite making an early pass on Goddard, managed a hard fought third place. Randle’s wealth of experience around Phillip Island assisted him to hold off the advances of Team BRM and AGI Sport cars around him.

Fellow DREAM Motorsport pilot Luis Leeds endured a tough race after stalling on the grid. Some spirited battles saw the recent Mexican F4 round winner climb up the order. A side-by-side pass on Frankie Maiolo into Turn 1 being a particular highlight.

Harry Hayek had an equally impressive run to finish in fourth, with Team Toolforce Racing pilot Jimmy Vernon making the top five after a spectacular battle between he and Goddard.

Race 2 for the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will commence at 2:00pm AEDST on Fox Sports 5, live timing at and on Twitter via #F4AU and @Formula4AU.