story: Speedcafe- pic: Auto Action

Australia Production Car Series

Young gun Will Brown has won the Race 1 event, during a 'cameo appearance' in the Australian Production Car Series, at Winton Raceway, Victoria against a strong field of national drivers.

Will Brown is seen on his way to victory in the Australian Production car series at Winton

Brown and Rod Salmon emerged victorious in the opening Australian Production Car Series race after late drama hit the Chaz Mostert and Nathan Morcom Ford Focus RS.

A strong, consistent performance saw Brown and Salmon emerge at the front of the field with 13 laps remaining in the 300km enduro.

V8 Supercar star Mostert, who’d taken control of the Focus at around half distance, had been leading the race when the front left tyre began to peel off the rim.

The resulting stop more than accounted for their 30-second lead, emerging from pit lane effectively a lap behind Brown.

Early leaders Bob Pearson and Rick Bates raced home to third at the flag, though were more than a lap down before Brown eased off the pace in the closing laps and allowed them to gain their lap back.

Sherrin brothers Grant and Iain endured a troubled day, with a fuel pump failure in qualifying forcing the BMW M4 to start from the rear of the grid, then a blown engine ending their race with 25 laps left on the board.

Winning class B1 was Scott Gore and Keith Beasley in the BMW 135i in fourth outright, while Class C was claimed by Ric Shaw and Andrew Bollom in fifth overall.

One place further back was Class D winners Dominic Martens and James Keane while Class E went to Jason Walsh and Paul Currie.

Declan and Phil Kirkham claimed the Class I victory, while the only A2 entry, Chirs Lillis and Vince Ciallella, were one of six retirements.

Tyler Everingham and Michael Almond weren’t classified finishers, nearly 73 laps adrift of the race winners.

Brown returns to the Dunlop V8 Series next at Townsville.